Disability Committee


The Mayors Committee for the Disabled was created in response to the Mayor’s concern for and awareness of the needs of the disabled citizens within East Chicago, Indiana. Structurally, the committee operates under the auspices of the East Chicago Human Rights Commission, which is a city department.


The fifteen member volunteer committee is established for the following purposes:

  • To asses the extent to which residential and non-residential programs and related services in the City of East Chicago meet the needs of the disabled
  • To foster public awareness of the needs and abilities of disabled individuals
  • To identify and investigate pertinent concerns in need of further research and evaluation that relate to disabled individuals
  • To propose goals and broad program objectives with respect to services for the disabled
  • To recommend appropriate programs and services to meet those needs which, in the opinion of the committee remain unmet
  • To serve as a city-wide forum to comment upon practices and policies which impact upon disabled individuals

The committee's endeavors are not limited to those outlined above but shall extend to all concerns of the disabled.

Community Outreach

The East Chicago Human Rights Commission partnered with the Mayor’s Committee for the Disabled to host Disability Awareness Month in March at the Riley Park. Information concerning services from government and not profit groups was shared with the public.

The disability awareness month poster contest winners were announced. Participants from 6th-grade elementary schools submitted a poster about this year’s theme “Attitude is Everything.” The first and second place winners received gift cards to Borders and the remaining participants received a Certificates of Appreciation.

Resource Information

Disability and Business Technical Assistance Centers (DBTAC) Great Lakes  Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Center

The DBTAC Great Lakes ADA Center provides information, materials, technical assistance and training on the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Topics addressed include the non-discrimination requirements in employment, the obligations of state and local governments and businesses to ensure that programs, services and activities are readily accessible to and useable by people with disabilities. This includes access to the information technology used by these entities including but not limited to websites, software, kiosks, etc.

The six states which comprise Region 5 are:

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin

Each state has created an ADA.

Steering Committee

Steering Committee representing the business community, government agencies, disability rights groups, and other interested parties. With the support of the DBTAC Great Lakes  ADA Center, statewide Steering Committees participate in, enhance, and utilize local resources, training, technical assistance, and conferences, to support voluntary compliance with the ADA.

Indiana Governor’s Council for People with Disabilities

The Indiana Governor’s Council is an independent state agency that facilitates change.

Their mission is to advance the independence, productivity, and inclusion of people with disabilities in all aspects of society. This mission is accomplished through planning, evaluation, collaboration, education, research and advocacy.

State of Indiana

At the Indiana state government website you can find family and health resources for older adults, resources for citizens with disabilities, and veterans resources.